As a former carefree child, I remember enjoying gummy bears and other sugary treats while watching videos. Although I became a vegetarian a few years ago, I still indulged in jelly-based sweets from time to time. Despite people telling me they were made from gelatin, I continued to consume them.
However, after watching Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens‘ disturbing short film, which depicts the reverse process of how gummy candy is made, I was shocked to learn that gelatin is extracted from the skin of pigs. The film is an eye-opener that will make anyone think twice before consuming these sweets again.
But there are alternatives to animal-based gelatin that can be used in some candies, such as agar, which is derived from algae and is one of the most popular substitutes.
Kneepkens, who created the chilling video series, remarks on her website, “Jelly is candy. But only a few people know they’re made of gelatin from the skin of pigs. Sweet?” I urge everyone to share this article, particularly with their vegan and vegetarian friends, to raise awareness about the issue.